Cisco Wireless

By | 23/03/2015

Compatibility Matrix

Deployment modes:

  • Converged access
  • Centralized (or local)
  • FlexConnect




Converged Access

Converged Access requires a WLC 5760 / 5508 + 3850 Catalyst switches or a combination of 3850 switches

Converged access components:

  • Mobility Controller – Mobility management tasks and systemwide coordination tasks.
  • Mobility Agent – keeps the wireless client database and handle authentication. Provides access point connectivity and CAPWAP termination.
  • Mobility Oracle – Enhances scalability and performance. Coordinates roaming between multiple mobility groups.
  • Mobility Group – Logical group of mobility controllers to enable fast roaming.
  • Mobility sub-domain – Agrupation of SPG to be managed collectively.
  • Switch Peer Group (SPG) – Logical group of mobility agents within a controller. Constrain roaming traffic to this group.



Centralized Mode

All the traffic goes through the Wireless Controller



WLC 5760 Datasheet

Converged Access Q&A

WLC 5760 Deployment Guide

WLC 5760 HA Options


FlexConnect Mode

AP registers to the central Controller through the WAN.

Access point sends all the authentication messages through the Access Point.

  • Locally switched – Data is switches locally by the AP
  • Centrally switched – Data goes to the WLC


  • Central authentication, central switching – WLC handles authentication. Client data goes to the controller.
  • Central authentication, local switching – WLC handles authentication, AP switches data.
  • Local authentication, local switching – authentication and data switch is done on the AP

Standalone mode – The AP has lost the communication with the Controller
Connceted mode – The AP can communicate with the Controller

Old names for FlexConnect: REAP (Remote Edge AP) and HREAP (Hybrid REAP)

Flex 7500 Deployment Guide


AP Management Protocols

CAPWAP – Control and Provisioning of Wireless Access Points

LWAPP – Lightweight Access Point Protocol

Both are protocols to manage and operate multiple APs centrally. LSAPP has two modes: L2 (deprecated) and L3. Cisco is currently using CAPWAP as a default protocol